The Mask Maker

“Ya! Ya! Ya!
Welcome, Ladies and Gentlemen!
Come on in!
No need to hesitate! Come on in! Come on in!”

 

“Oi…”

 

“Huh?”

 

“I remember you said something about  movie.
So, where the heck are we!?”

 

“Ah, Movie’s out, Bro!
Bo~oo~ring!
Trust me, Man. This is better!
Much better!”

 

“…
So… This is your plan all along…”

 

 

 

 

“Oi…”

 

“Huh!?
What’re you doing?
You’re not enjoying this at all!”

 

“Wha…?
How can i enjoy when i don’t understand any of it?”

 

“Gentlemen!
How can i help you?”

 

“Ah! Mr. Maker! How convenient…
As i’ve said earlier, Sir!
Today, i bring a friend!”

 

“Wow! A friend!
Welcome, Sir, welcome!
What’s your name?”

 

“Um… I’m Joseph…”

 

“Joseph! Nice to meet you, Sir!
My name’s…
Well, it’s not that important…
You can call me Mr. Maker! Just like everybody else do!”

 

“Okay, Mr. Maker…
What is this place?”

 

“Now, now, Joseph.
Don’t be so hasty…
Tell you what…
I’ll give you a quick tour. And in the end of the day, you’ll know…
What place is this.
What do you say?”

 

“Um… I’m not sure…”

 

“Come on! It’s free!”

 

*Glance sideways*
“You coming?”

 

“Nuh-uh, Man…
I have other things to do.
See you later!”

 

 

 

 

“So, Joseph…
You’re an actor too?”

 

“Um… Ya.
How do you know?”

 

“Michael has always told me about you, you know…”

 

“Um… Thanks? I guess…”

 

“He said a lot of things!
Including your…
Ah… Dream.”

 

“…
Um, what’s that?”

 

“Ah! You sure have good eyes, Joseph!
That, is one of my best creations!
Here, take a look for yourself!
Its name is… Anger!”

 

“A… Anger?”

 

“Yeah, Joseph! Anger!
Listen…
This world we’re living in, is a cruel world…
Don’t you agree?”

 

“Yeah…
So?”

 

“Nobody understands you… Everybody’s judging you…
Well! This is my way to counteract those actions!
This is what you need to protect yourself!
Wear this and you’ll be able to live through a day!
Free from drama! Free from annoyance!
Free from anyone who’s too egoistic to care for you!
You can have your own world! Hell, you will make your own world!
Just you and yourself…
Just by wearing… This!”

 

“W… Wow…
Really?”

 

“Of course!
Wanna try?”

 

“Ah… No, no thanks…”

 

“Oh? It’s okay…
No one’s ever got theirs in the first stroll, after all…
Shall we continue?
I’m sure, you’ll find the one’s suitable for you in no time!”

 

 

 

“Speaking of which, Joseph…
I’ve been watching some of your movies.”

 

“Ya? Wow…
I… It’s an honor, Sir…”

 

“Yeah. I love ’em!
My favorite is that one film, where you’re playing as Mobo.”

 

“Mobo… The Crying Athlete?”

 

“That’s the one!”

 

“B… But…
That movie is considered a failure…
It didn’t reach…”

 

“Bullsh*t!
It was a great success!
I like the character!
Mobo is the most realistic character a movie can ever have!
I know, believe me…
I know he is realistic…”

 

“…
Thanks…”

 

“And that is exactly why i made this!
The Cry!”

 

“The Cry?”

 

“Yeah! Come! Take a look!
Well, i don’t wanna brag, but The Cry is the most popular product of mine!
You see? There’re a lot of people buying this beauty!”

 

“…
Sorry, Mr. Maker… But…
Honestly, i don’t understand…
Mobo is a failure…
Useless athlete…
Why would you make something based on him?
And why is that… ‘Thing’ so popular?
I really don’t…”

 

“AH! You’re underestimating your act, Joseph!
Don’t ever do it again!
Here, let me explain…

You see that girl? Over there?”

 

“…
Uh-uh? What’s with her?”

 

“She, Joseph…
She is what Mobo represented!
Broken down inside… Hopeless…
But, nevertheless, still manage to put up a smile…
A smile that fool the whole world around her!
Isn’t it the best?
Humans, My Friend…
Are proud creatures…
Even though they know they need help, they’ll choose to bottle it up and act strong!
And The Cry, helps them to do so!”

 

“…”

 

“Now, i’m sure you won’t need one of these…
You have your acting skill, right?
Shall we continue?”

 

“Mr. Maker… Please…
What is this place?
I… I won’t…
I’m not taking another step forward!
Before you tell me!”

 

“Why the rush, Joseph?
Calm down…

Huuh…
Okay, okay…
It’s not my original plan, but…
Come, i’ll show you my final work…
My masterpiece!
C’mon!”

 

 

 

“Mr. Maker…?
Wh… Where’re you taking me?
Where is this?
Where are…”

 

“Shuush… This is my working room…
My masterpiece is not ready yet, Joseph…
I need someone to be the pilot…
And…
Well, who’s better at that than you?
The actor…
Under-rated actor whose dream, is to be…

Someone else…?”

 

“WHA…!?”

 

“BEHOLD! MY MASTERPIECE!
THE ULTIMATE MASK!
THE SAND!”

 

“T… The Sand…?”

 

“Yes, Son!
Look!
With its ever-changing features, you can be whoever you wanna be!
Say, who’re you thinking right now?
Your super-popular, superstar friend, Michael?
Take a look! It can shift to his character!
This mask, My Friend…
Is the most suitable for you!”

 

“…
Y… You’re insane…”

 

“HELL YES I’M INSANE!
NOW!
TRY THIS! TRY THIS!
WEAR THIS, JOSEPH!
WEAR THIS!”

 

“Wha…!?
Knock it off!
Hey!
Let go of me!!!
Help!
HELP!!!”

 

“NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU DOWN HERE, SONNY BOY! NO ONE!
YOU ASK FOR IT YOURSELF!
IT’S TOO LATE TO BACK UP NOW!”

 

“WHAT!?
WHAT THE HELL!?
I’M ASKING FOR WHAT!?”

 

“Oh, now, now…
Cut the crap, will ya, Joseph?
I hear your silent prayers, Sonny Boy…
Oh yes i hear all of them…
‘Why is God so unfair? 
Why is it always Michael?
Why can’t i be like him?
Why? Why? Why?’
WELL NOW, SON! I’LL TELL YOU!
YOUR GOD IS UNFAIR, INDEED!
I’M THE ONE WHO CAN GRANT YOUR WISH!
THIS MASK WILL GRANT YOUR WISH!
NOW… WEAR THIS!
WEAR THIS… AND SAY GOOD BYE TO YOUR OLD-SELF!!!”

 

“NO!
HEELLLLPPPPP!!!”

 

 

 

 

 

Too late…

Too late…

 

Be careful what you wish for, Friends…

 

Here i was, writing this warning for all of you!

 

Watch out!

WATCH OUT ALL THE TIME!

 

Look around you!

 

If you find someone who’s angry all the time, reach up and talk to ’em!

Give them care and love they need!

Crack open those godd*mn Masks!

Save them!

 

If you find someone who’s always hiding all the time…

Smiling, even though they’re hurt…

Be quick and save them!

Give them a shoulder to cry on!

Be there for them!

DESTROY THOSE MASKS!

 

And lastly…

Don’t…

Don’t ever… Wish that you’re somebody else…

Give thanks for the way you are!

You’re perfect! As perfect as The Almighty wants you to be!

 

Please, Friends…

Save them…

 

Save them…

 

From the Mask Maker…

Leave a comment