Borrowing Hearts

Started out with only one…

The same, all the same…

 

Well…

Some managed it well, but…

Some… Not really…

 

Scary? Yes.

But…

No choice…

 

 

“Here’s yours.”

The nice lady’s smiling behind the desk.

“Be careful now, Dear.”

 

Hesitated for a while…

“Is it…”

 

Didn’t hear it, the lady kept her smile.

 

Sighed, i cut myself out.

“Nah, it’s okay.”

 

Reaching out, took it at once.

Weighing, weighing…

“Kinda light, is it not?”

 

Gently, the nice lady laughed.

“Well, good for you, then, Dear.”

 

 

Didn’t understand, back then…

But now?

 

Oh God…

How i wished things could go back the way it was!

 

I wish…

I could turn back time!

 

When it was lighter…

Unburdened…

Free…

 

B… But…

 

Too late, i guess…

 

 

“Lady, can i…”

 

“Hm…?
What? Is that you, Dear?
Come back so soon? What’s wrong?”

 

Sighed heavily, i took out that… Thing.

“I want to give it back.
I don’t wanna keep it anymore…
T… Too many…
Hurts…”

 

“What? But…
Why…?”

 

“I… I…
I can’t take it anymore!
I’m exhausted!
I… I’m tired of guarding that thing every time!
It… It hasn’t done anything for me but pain!”

 

“…
Now, now Dear…
Calm yourself down…
Here… Take a sip.”

 

“…
I… I don’t understand.
Why…?
What good is this… Thing?
I can live without it!
Happier, i suppose!
I… I don’t want it…
My life would be better off… That thing…”

 

Thin smile of understanding, she nodded.

“I understand now…
My Dear, you’re still young!
Here, sit… And listen to me…
It won’t be long, i promise.”

 

“… Okay.”

 

“Now… First thing first.
Do you remember the first time we met?”

 

“… Yes?”

 

“Do you remember what you said?”

 

“… I…
Well, i said ‘kinda light, is it not?'”

 

“That’s true!
And that’s the way it supposed to be, Dear!
That thing, is supposed to be light.
And here’s the secret…
It works best, when you let go.”

 

“… What?”

 

“Dear, why’re you exhausted?
Because you’re bringing a big burden!
A huge load of burden in that thing of yours.
But that thing is not made to store loads!
That thing… Is made to give.”

 

“G… Give…?”

 

“Yes, Dear.
Well… Since you’ve come a long way here, let’s take a look, shall we?

Hm, hm… What do we have here?
Oh Dear!”

 

“W.. Why?”

 

“My Dear boy…
Why would you keep these things?
Look…
Anger… Anger again… Anger again…
More anger…
Resentment… Bitterness…
My Dear… This is really bad…”

 

“Wh… What should i do?”

 

She closed her eyes.

Slowly, she shook her head.

“All of these, need to go… Away.”

 

“Bu… But how?”

 

“Well, here’s the trick.
Works every time!
Try it! Come on! Follow me!
Inhale…
Exhale…
Inhale…
Exhale…
Now…
Imagine the moments, or the people who made you feel these.”

 

“I… I…
My God…
Why should i!?
I DON’T WANNA REMEMBER THOSE!”

 

“There, there… Calm down!
Don’t be afraid…
Imagine, remember the details.
Face it like a man, Dear!”

 

“…”

 

“Good! Good!
Now, if you’re done with that, we can proceed to the next phase.”

 

“…
Which is?”

 

“Look beyond!”

 

So startled, i opened my eyes!

“What do you mean?”

 

“Oops! Don’t open your eyes just yet!
Look beyond, Boy.
If your angry moment was in a park, then look to the open sky.
If it’s in a room, look for a window, and outside.”

 

“… Okay…?”

 

“Now…
Keep moving forward.
Don’t stop!
Expand! More! More!”

 

“…
I… It’s…
I… I feel…”

 

“Lighter?”

 

“… Y… Yeah!”

 

“Good. Now, open your eyes.”

 

Still there, the lady was.

Smiling too.

 

“Your problem, is your eyes, then.
Your inner eyes.
Your scope is to small, Dear!
Look beyond!
Don’t look at those anger!
Look at the sky, the birds, the beauty…
And it will all… Go away…”

 

“…”

 

Smiling still, she gave me that thing back.

“Now, do you still want me to keep it?”

 

Smiling now, i shook my head.

“No, Lady…
Thank you.”

 

 

 

It’s true…

Your eyes determine your emotions!

Don’t look at the problems!

Look at the world!

 

Don’t keep those garbage!

Throw ’em away!

 

Keep your thing light…

 

Give and only give… Do not keep!

 

Well…

Your heart, that is…

Leave a Reply

